Choose the right journal or publisher for your research

Bev Acreman, UKSG

Bev Acreman was a founding member of T.C.S. while at BioMed Central and helped gather interest from other organisations in the same space. She has extensive experience of journal publishing, and was Vice President, Open Access Business Development at BioMed Central and then Springer. She is Executive Director at UKSG, an organisation she has been involved in as a volunteer for over 20 years.

Gaelle Bequet, ISSN International Centre

Dr. Gaëlle Béquet was appointed Director of the ISSN International Centre (Paris, France) in March 2014. She began her career as an ICT specialist for the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. She has also worked in various academic libraries. She holds a PhD in Information Science (2011, Sorbonne University). In 2014, she published her book Trois bibliothèques européennes face à Google : aux origines de la bibliothèque numérique (1990-2010) about the emergence of digital libraries in Austria, France and the UK.

Lars Bjørnshauge, DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

Lars was Director of Libraries at Lund University from 2001 to 2011 and founded the DOAJ in 2003. He became Managing Director of DOAJ in January 2013. He has vast experience in: change management; the re-engineering of academic libraries; the development of information services for research & higher education. He has been a strong advocate of open access and for providing services to the open access movement (open access to research publications). He is co-founder of OpenDOAR and the Directory of Open Access Books.

Siân Harris, INASP (

Siân represents INASP in the Think. Check. Submit. committee, with a particular role of ensuring that that initiative meets the needs of researchers in low- and middle-income countries. Since joining INASP in 2014, she has been focused on communicating about the work of INASP and the people and organizations that INASP works with in Africa, Asia and Latin America. In addition, she has been involved in the development and launch of Journal Publishing Practices and Standards (JPPS) and serves as a mentor in the AuthorAID project. She is a chef on Scholarly Kitchen and, prior to joining INASP, was editor of Research Information magazine for more than a decade.

Matt McKay, International Association of STM Publishers

Matt is Director of Communication for STM. He is a Chartered Public Relations Practitioner who has worked across STM publishing, transport and engineering for the past 20 years.

Dominic Mitchell, DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

Dom has worked extensively with the publisher and librarian communities both as a publisher, with the BMJ Publishing Group (UK), and as an account and project manager at HighWire Press – Stanford University (USA). He is responsible for collaboration with DOAJ’s publishers, for DOAJ’s technical development, social media presence and its blog, the DOAJ News Service. He is also Web Manager for COPE.

Claire Redhead, OASPA (Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association)

Claire’s publishing background began back in 2000. Editorial positions in UK publishing houses in the 12 years that followed provided her with valuable opportunities for developing key skills and varied experience in the academic journal and book publishing industry. In 2012 Claire joined the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA), initially responsible for managing membership and communications for the organisation. Claire quickly took the lead to develop and grow OASPA during this time, and was appointed Executive Director of the association in 2016.

Natalie Ridgeway, COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics)

Natalie Ridgeway has worked extensively in scholarly publishing, at Cambridge University Press, BMJ Publishing Group and The Lancet, before joining COPE in 2010. As Executive Officer, her main responsibilities are to provide a range of high level executive, operational, and project support services to the Trustee Board and Council, including providing strategic advice and implementing strategies to support the achievement of the organisation’s strategic and operational objectives.

Katherine Stephan (Research Support Librarian/Academic Liaison Librarian, Liverpool John Moores University)

Katherine Stephan is a Research Support Librarian and an Academic Liaison Librarian at Liverpool John Moores University. She previously worked in public libraries in Bristol and Norwich before moving into academic libraries in 2012. She is keen to work with and learn from others that support and advocate for open research via: open data, open access publishing, engagement events and work with the wider public and public libraries. She tweets at @msiowaintheuk

Niels Stern, OAPEN Foundation

Niels Stern is director of OAPEN and co-director of the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB). He began his career in scholarly book publishing in 2003 and was a co-founder of the OAPEN project in 2008. Since then he has been head of publishing for the Nordic Council of Ministers, independent expert for the European Commission on open science and e-infrastructures, and before joining OAPEN he was head of department for licence management at the Royal Danish Library, also serving as chief negotiator for the Danish national licence consortium.

Sofie Wennström, LIBER (Association of European Research Libraries)

Sofie Wennström represents the LIBER organization, and their over 400 member libraries across Europe, in the Committee. Sofie has been working with academic publishing since 2003, and manages the journals portfolio at Stockholm University Press. Sofie’s workplace is Stockholm University Library in Sweden, where she is also teaching students and researchers about scholarly communication and information literacy.